Will muting a conversation delete the new messages (replies)?

The list shows both friends who are available to chat and friends who aren’t. I prefer Skype chat and limit myself there to my own team and a small group of core contacts. Maybe once in a blue moon when I happen to be camera ready anyway!

I appreciate there are great benefits to being able to live chat anytime, but for me I like to limit my instant availability and stay focused. )There are now several changes to the way you use Facebook chat and edit your settings: Facebook states, “The sidebar is sensitive to the amount of free space you have on your screen, so it only appears if there’s enough room for it.

You may have noticed the new Facebook Chat Sidebar when you logged in to Facebook recently.

The list of friends displayed in this sidebar is supposed to be the friends you interact with most.

Find the “Mute Conversation” option and you will not receive any more messages from that person. Yes, you will still be able to see your friend's response(s).

Here's a sample screenshot: I really find this "mute" feature very useful especially when my contacts include me in a group message that has nothing to do with me, which can be pretty annoying. Just view your inbox and you should be able to find the muted conversation.

In short, you won't get any alerts or notifications whenever a new reply is written.

If you're too busy or not in the mood to chat with any person, you can simply mute the conversation to stop getting new message alerts.

Muting a conversation simply will ignore the messages being sent to you.

Muting a conversation will keep chat tabs from popping up on your Facebook page and will also turn off push notifications on your mobile as well.

To do this, click the option button, which can be found between the “Video Chat” (or "Add People" icon) and “Close” button.